Testimonials: Customer comments reviews

horse riding photo customer comments reviews

Examples of feedback we have received in the customer comments reviews & appreciation of our horseback rides and time outdoors away from Santiago.

(For review comments on specific topics see also Highlight of our tripcamping ridesgood quality horsesguidesI felt like a cowgirlefficient smooth administration Novice riders)

” Was wonderful to get out of the city smog and see what the mountains are like… It seems they are much the same as they were hundreds of years ago which, for me made it so special! Am hoping to come back in the summer.”

Radha July 2014

“We really enjoyed the horse ride. In fact, it was the highlight of our trip. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The lunch was the best feed we had on our entire trip to Chile and the views were spectacular. It was well worth the expense and the fact that Darren had not ridden before did not matter at all (much to his relief).”

Maria after a day ride in El Toyo, November 2012

horse riding chile santiago

I would like to thank you very much for making possible to us to enjoy that amazing adventure.It was last notice, so I know it took you a lot work to make it happen.

It was one the most amazing things we have ever done. I hope one day repeat it again and make a longer journey. The guides were amazing, please let them know how satisfied we were and the food was great. After they introduced us to pisco sour, it was all we were drinking.”

Cristiane after an overnight ride camping in the cordillera in early October 2012

horse riding chile santiago

“My day in the mountains with Leo was absolutely blissful. We were comfortable in our silence but for the sounds of the river, the wind, the horses hooves. It was more than I had hoped for as foreign cities have begun to lose their individuality, but landscapes, nature, maintain freshness and character. The horses carried us confidently up and down into the most beautiful settings, we stopped for lunch, and somewhat unbelievably, caught and ate 3 fish with Empanada bait 🙂   How I would love to return this year and stay a few nights out there.
Thank you Rose… for you patience with my changing dates and for a very special experience.”

Josephine after a 1 day ride in May in El Toyo

horse riding chile santiago

“Our family, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 6 and 12, had a fantastic day riding in Chile. Transportation to and from the Cajon was sorted for us. We do not ride so were a bit anxious but were given excellent instructions prior to setting off and the horses were superbly trained – we only had to sit on them and the horses did the rest – perfect. We decided to go for a one day ride including lunch as we were novices, this was spot on for us. A delicious traditional lunch was provided and we ate by the side of a stream/water hole which we could have taken a dip in but it was a bit chilly the day we rode. The guides were really friendly, professional and great with the kids, even teaching them how to fish with a line and a tin can! We all returned to our hotel later that day exhausted but thrilled to have had a great experience. The scenery is wonderful, there are some narrow tracks and steep bits but you could tell the horses could do that route in the dark and we felt totally at ease and secure. I would recommend this trip to anyone.”

Sarah, travelling round the world for a year with husband and 2 children, spent a day with us in April 2012 and wrote about it to TripAdvisor

horse riding chile santiago

“I did the single day excursion from near Banos Morales to the El Morado glacier. Clouds and mist on the ride up obscured the high mountains and created a spooky, ethereal atmosphere. The sturdy little horses were confident and nimble on the rocky paths. I do not ride much and found the route enjoyable and not overly challenging. My horse Carmelo was well-mannered and energetic. Our guide Cristobal was friendly and happy to take pictures of us. When we arrived at the glacier the clouds cleared and the snow stopped and we got a beautiful view of the glacier. We had a lot more sun on the ride back down and the high, snow-capped mountains revealed themselves! I had such a good time I did another ride in El Toyo the next day. Thanks to the spectacular scenery and the spirited horses this truly was the best day of my life!

The excursion organizer, Rose, was able to efficiently put trips and transport together with rather short notice. Picnic lunches of sandwiches, fruit, cookies, and drinks were always provided. Transportation from hotel to the ride start was in a very modern, comfortable, and clean van driven by Tito who knows the area well. Extra clothing (ponchos, hats, jackets) was provided and appreciated. Payment is easy with Paypal on the website!”

Ellen who rode up to the glacier on a stormy day in February 2012. (1 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago

We just returned from our trip and wanted to thank you for arranging our favorite day in Chile. The whole family tremendously enjoyed this unique experience the day provided. Everything was perfect…the incredible views, the steady and easy-to-ride horses, the delicious barbecue lunch, and considerate staff. Patricio and Leo were wonderful! Please continue to offer this high-quality opportunity for visitors.

Jennifer who came with husband and 2 sons in August 2011. (1 DAY RIDE)

horse riding chile santiago

I just wanted to write and tell you what a great time I had today horse riding! Rigo was an excellent guide and very patient and understanding! I thought the scenery and weather made this a perfect trip!!

Thanks again Claire, El Toyo August 2011  (1 DAY RIDE)

horse riding chile santiago

Excerpts from a review in TripAdvisor:

I was on a business trip in Santiago, and had a weekend free… The best thing about this company is that they offer CUSTOMISED TOURS. I laid out what I wanted (higher altitudes, further distance etc.) and they managed to organise a tour at very short notice… The other great thing about this company is that it quickly responds to your questions and needs.

It is run by a very organised English family who are very efficient at getting your personalised tour to run like clockwork… The horses are very well-trained and less temperamental than ones that I have ridden in the UK… I saw several groups of less experienced riders and they had a great time with the horses as the horses were very calm and moved at a comfortable pace.

The guides have very good control over all the horses. I would certainly be comfortable with recommending these highly-disciplined horses to anyone. The best thing about horses is you can go much further and higher than if you hiked.

I have also done a horse-riding tour in the Southern Alps of New Zealand, and it wasn’t as much fun as this one. The guides in Chile are nicer, more relaxed; the horses have a better temperament; the weather is better; and and the scenery is more stunning.

Derek, who went out in May 2011. (2 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“We had a fantastic experience horseriding in the Andes. One of the most amazing things I’ve ever done”

Isabelle, after vetinerary conference in Santiago.(1 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“I don’t know quite what I expected but it certainly wasn’t that! But perhaps the best 4 days of my life.”

Jack, aged 83, camping in El Toyo, sleeping under the stars.(4 days ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“The ride was one of the highlights of the last 10 years.”

Aaron Kolpelowitz riding in the high Andes.(5 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“Our day at the mountains was just amazing. I can’t describe what I felt that day”

From Luiz and Mari trip in El Toyo. (1 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“Great experience – absolutely one of the best things I’ve ever done in my life!”

Hanna who’d never been on a horse before. (2 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“The ride was one of the highlights of the last 10 years.”

From Aaron Kolpelowitz riding in the high Andes.(5 days ride)

horse riding chile santiago 

“A big thank-you for my two days; they were absolutely amazing and were a big highlight of my time in Chile!”

Lauren Fear (after studying in Chile)

horse riding chile santiago

“We came for 2 nights and stayed 4 because we enjoyed ourselves so much”

Kim, Daniel & Liam in El Toyo, nights in Hostal. (4 days ride)

horse riding chile santiago
“Our day at the mountains was just amazing. I can’t describe what I felt that day”“We had a fantastic experience horseriding in the Andes. One of the most amazing things I’ve ever done”

Isabelle, after vetinerary conference in Santiago. (1 day ride)

horse riding chile santiago

 

“I don’t know quite what I expected but it certainly wasn’t that! But perhaps the best 4 days of my life.”

Jack, aged 83, camping in El Toyo, sleeping under the stars. (4 days ride)

horse riding chile santiago

 

“Great experience – absolutely one of the best things I’ve ever done in my life!”

Hanna, who’d never been on a horse before. (2 days in El Toyo)

horse riding chile santiago

 

“The ride was one of the highlights of the last 10 years.”

From Aaron Kolpelowitz riding in the high Andes. (5 days ride)

horse riding chile santiago

 

Thanks to all our customers who gave us permission to publish their comments and reviews. We are delighted you enjoyed the trip and spending time in the mountains with the local horsemen or cowboys that live in the Cajon de Maipo near Santiago, Chile.

For Telephone Enquiries & Bookings call on +56 9 5938 7729

or Whatsapp us on +56 9 5938 7729

We are ideal for first time riders and families with children.

(ask for times and availability +56 9 5938 7729)

Day tours every day - Discounts for large groups. English speaking guide available.

We customise every trip/tour to suit your needs and can also arrange transportation.

Don't hesitate to contact us - email rides@horseridingchile.com or you can use our Book a ride form.